Taphions or Tilevoes are its first inhabitants of the two brothers Taphion and Tilevoa, sons of Poseidon. References from Homer, Strabo and Euripides, show the intense commercial activity of the island.
Meganisi, along with the rest of Ionian islands joins Mother Greece, in 1864.
It belongs to the cluster of Tilevoes islands, along with all the bigger and smaller islands amongst Lefkada and the Acarnanian coasts.
The changing landscapes are so many, which makes visitors not to ever get bored.
The northeast side is characterized by many consecutive enclosed bays reminiscent of fjords and small friendly beaches. The beaches at Spilia, Pasoumaki, Ambelakia, Fanari, Limonari, Elia, Loutrolimni, Bereta, and the beach of St. John, with the homonymous historic chapel in the west, are favorite spots for carefree summer moments.
On the other hand, the southwest rocky and wild side fills visitors with awe, without repelling him. The large peninsula there, that ends at cape Kefali, dares you to explore it, offering the sea caves of Giovani and the famous Papanikoli, that took their name from the famous Greek submarine that hid there during the Second World War.